clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kyle Allen at top of Maxwell Award Watch List

"first on the list, baby"
"first on the list, baby"
Justin Ford-USA TODAY Sports

We're less than two months out from college football season, which means awards watch list season is in full swing. The Maxwell Football Club has released their official list for the Maxwell Award today. The Maxwell Award originated in 1937 and is given to the "College Player of the Year."

Kyle Allen saw limited time at the beginning of 2014, but his hard work and quarterbacking prowess finally got him on the field in mid-season. He had a breakout November, leading the Ags to an upset of #3 Auburn on the road, and was named the Liberty Bowl MVP for his efforts against West Virginia to close out the year. As you can see, our own sophomore gunslinger sits atop this prestigious list by virtue of alphabetic fortuity.


Nebraska QB Tommy Armstrong, Jr. was the only other player to come close. We can't wait to see what 2015 has in store for Kyle Allen and the rest of the Aggie offense.