clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Drew Kaser Named to Ray Guy Award Watch List

Drew Kaser is making a name for himself in a long line of great Aggie punters.

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

In what will certainly be the biggest landslide of the 2014 college football awards circuit, the Ray Guy Award has nonetheless  gone through the formality of releasing an official watch list containing players in addition to Drew Kaser.

The official list from the press release is as follows:

Wil Baumann, N.C. State
Riley Dixon, Syracuse
James Farrimond, Rice
Tom Hackett, Utah
Thomas Hibbard, North Carolina
Taylor Hudson, Vanderbilt
A.J. Hughes, Virginia Tech
Sam Irwin-Hill, Arkansas
Cameron Johnston, Ohio State
Drew Kaser, Texas A&M, 2013 Finalist
Sean Kelley, Florida Atlantic
Cole Leininger, California
Justin Manton, ULM
Anthony Melchiori, Kent State
Will Monday, Duke
Peter Mortell, Minnesota
Hunter Mullins, UAB
Nick O’Toole, West Virginia
Trevor Pardula, Kansas
Zach Paul, Akron
Austin Rehkow, Idaho
Spencer Roth, Baylor
Mike Sadler, Michigan State
Garrett Swanson, Fresno State
Tyler Williams, Marshall

Kaser, the junior punter from Strongsville, Ohio, was one of the three finalists for the award last year. We tracked his campaign last fall, so you can catch up on that here. (Don't forget to watch the hype video!)

On a team replacing so much offensive talent and with so many question marks on defense, it's good to know that we have a rock-solid player on special teams, where field position can sometimes mean the difference between a win and a loss in the SEC.

Best of luck and Gig 'em, Drew!