clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

12th Man named best student section by experts at Taco Bell

It’s a major award!

Last night was the ESPN college football awards show, and Texas A&M Aggies punter Braden Mann came home with the Ray Guy Award as the country’s most outstanding punter. But a much more prestigious award is also coming home to College Station. The 12th Man (the student section, not Cullen Gillaspia) was named the Live Más Student Section of the Year by Taco Bell. This is a time-honored award that everyone should take very seriously and something we definitely didn’t just hear about for the first time this morning.

The Aggies beat out fellow semifinalists Clemson, LSU and Penn State. This award was voted on by a panel of experts, including College Gameday host Rece Davis, ESPN Sportscaster Marty Smith and the Oregon Duck mascot. But we all know who to really thank for securing the Aggie victory: espn.coms sharpest-dressed college football writer, Sam Khan, Jr. We assume we’ll soon see a new display in the Bright Complex to house this prestigious award as well as a banner somewhere in Kyle Field.

With a block of more than 30,000 seats, Texas A&M boasts the largest student section in college football. Also Kirk Herbstreit said we were the best student section in college football 12 years ago (#branding), so I guess it’s pretty serious.